The Student Room Group

SFE paying me for a maintenance loan even though I’m not studying this semester

Hello,

I have rung student finance and my university about this, my university said this issue has been sorted but it has not. Student finance said they can’t do anything about it until they hear from the uni…

But basically I re-sat my second semester of second year September-December. Now I have to wait until September 2024 to start my second year. But in the mean time I am technically not studying and student finance are still sending me maintenance money as if I am currently studying. It’s stressing me out that neither my uni or SFE seem to know what’s going on. I don’t want to keep ahold of this money if they are inevitably going to turn around and say they made a mistake and expect me to pay up 2 grand. Obviously I’ll just keep it safe in my savings and not spend it but I’d rather they just didn’t send it to me in the first place.
Original post by Livm3g2109
Hello,

I have rung student finance and my university about this, my university said this issue has been sorted but it has not. Student finance said they can’t do anything about it until they hear from the uni…

But basically I re-sat my second semester of second year September-December. Now I have to wait until September 2024 to start my second year. But in the mean time I am technically not studying and student finance are still sending me maintenance money as if I am currently studying. It’s stressing me out that neither my uni or SFE seem to know what’s going on. I don’t want to keep ahold of this money if they are inevitably going to turn around and say they made a mistake and expect me to pay up 2 grand. Obviously I’ll just keep it safe in my savings and not spend it but I’d rather they just didn’t send it to me in the first place.

Hi there,