The Student Room Group

Applying to UK University as a foreigner

Hello,
first of all, thanks for taking your time to read this.
I'm a French ex-student, I studied 3 years in Paris and dropped out with nothing completed due to personal reasons.
I'm 22 and I've been working since then, my question would be :

I'd like to apply to an university in UK through UCAS. But I do not have any knowledge about if my french baccalaureat ( A-Level equivalent ) would be able to work.
Moreover, I saw on UCAS that you need a referee, but as I dropped out of University and been many years since high schools, I do not know who to ask ( uni teachers probably doesn't know me anymore )

Thanks for your help
Original post by hgeric62
Hello,
first of all, thanks for taking your time to read this.
I'm a French ex-student, I studied 3 years in Paris and dropped out with nothing completed due to personal reasons.
I'm 22 and I've been working since then, my question would be :

I'd like to apply to an university in UK through UCAS. But I do not have any knowledge about if my french baccalaureat ( A-Level equivalent ) would be able to work.
Moreover, I saw on UCAS that you need a referee, but as I dropped out of University and been many years since high schools, I do not know who to ask ( uni teachers probably doesn't know me anymore )

Thanks for your help

Hi, this is the University of Aberdeen rep account and I wanted to come in with some general advice.

First of all it would be worth having a look at some of the UCAS guidance for international students here: https://www.ucas.com/undergraduate/applying-university/ucas-undergraduate-international-eu-students
They also have some information on choosing universities in the UK which may be of interest: https://www.ucas.com/undergraduate/applying-university/international-and-eu-students/applying-university-international-student/ten-ways-choose-uk-university