The Student Room Group

Help with childcare on access to higher education advice please

Hi i am new to all this, new to studying again!. Just joined this site. I am 34 and decided to follow the path i should have years ago in nursing. I did not get the maths at the level needed and due to my age i am now classed as a mature student eeek :eek:
I have two children and currently studying as i gave up my hours in 2011 when my father passed away with cancer. After going through ill health i am now ready to further my studying.
I was assessed and interviewed t chesterfield tapton campus and have been accepted to start in september of this year 2013. Rather deflated as i need childcare for around school and nursery for my children. I do not have the family support so would need funding, my college has informed me this was cut this year!. I have contacted student services and they can not help as i would need to be at level 4 for the funding.

I really hope something comes up as i will be gutted if a year of childcare and travel will stop me going on this access. I just dont have the cash to do it :s-smilie: i have a mortgage to pay and dont live with my childrens father so it will be a struggle. Is there any kind of help i can get please ???? thankyou in advance for any replies xxxxx
Reply 1
I've had the same problem, although I'm married with 3 children.
My college have also completely cut the funding for all assistance for the access course, so my travel, nursery fees and course fees will all have to be paid for somehow.

I've just received my timetable and hopefully I will only need 2 full days of childcare although this will see us around £400 per month worse off. It's going to be a really big struggle but I can't see any other way around it.