The Student Room Group

Have crush on flatmate, should I tell her?

So I am in my first year at university and as per the norm I live in a flat with 4 other first years (3 girls and 1 boy). One of the girls in particular I get along with really well and always have a good time with. There haven't been many signs saying she likes me back, tbh I doubt she likes me any more then a friend. But anyway I fancy the pants off of her, and really am considering telling her. I mean part of me wants to hope that she might give me a chance and it will be ok, but another part of me knows dating a flatmate could end horribly considering how close we live with each other. Also If I do tell her and she turns me down I don't want things to be awkward (I've had that before with another crush in college, and I do not want it again because it's still awkward). I just don't know what to do about it. I spend most days thinking about her, especially at night at this sort of time(2am onwards). I'm constantly checking social media to see if there's any chance I can interact with her (I.e. Reply to a tweet or snapchat etc.). Ahhhh I don't know what I should do. Any advice would be appreciated:smile: sorry for the long post .
Reply 1
I'm in the same situation as you and I'm considering telling him once I come back, so I completely understand. Perhaps give subtle hints that you like her instead of outright saying it and see how she reacts. If it isn't positive, you'll have to let it go.
Why not? Everyone says don't mess around or get involved with flatmates but it didn't bother me in my first year of university. I slept with two flatmates in first year halls and there was no issues whatsoever.