The Student Room Group

Applying for Occupational Therapy or Speech and Language Therapy

Hello all,
It's great to finally be on here, I'm looking to apply for university next year and I was wondering if you anyone would be kind enough to give me some advice.
I've been working as a Health Care Assistant for the past 4 years supporting individuals with profound and complex learning disabilities. I've worked alongside OTs and members of the local SaLT team, their work has been very interesting and as such, I've decided that I would like to pursue a career in (preferably) Speech and Language or Occupational Therapy. However, I do not have any A levels (I studied IT and History many moons ago and failed in the most spectacular fashion). I do have a level 3 NVQ in Health and Social Care as well as my years of work experience. I've heard of access courses but I'm not getting any younger. I would be willing to do one but it'd be frustrating having to wait another year.
I've done a wee bit of research and found a few universities that are less inclined to choose someone who's got A levels over someone with experience.
OT: Bristol, Glasgow, Cumbria, Northumbria, Derby, Liverpool, London Brunel
SaLT: Cardiff, East Anglia, Ulster, De Montfort, Manchester Met., Reading
For OT, my top pics are London Brunel, Liverpool and Bristol
For SaLT, my top pics are Manchester Met and Reading
If you've come this far without giving up, got any advice?
Original post by Thomasunde92
Hello all,
It's great to finally be on here, I'm looking to apply for university next year and I was wondering if you anyone would be kind enough to give me some advice.