The Student Room Group

Learning to drive - my instructor thinks that I'll take years, what do I do?

Hi,

I started learning to drive a couple of months ago. I'm on my fourth lesson with a really nice instructor and I haven't come out of first gear yet. I'm fairly nervous and she thinks that it will take me a good couple of years with weekly lessons to pass. I'm not in a position to afford more than a weekly lesson and I was hoping to be driving by this time next year. I'm struggling with steering and understanding how much I have to steer at each corner. Is it wise seeing if I can get learners' insurance and practise in my parents' car? Is there anything else I can be doing to speed up the process? I'm learning to love driving and I'm excited by the prospects of freedom that it gives me - driving to see my friends, going to the beach etc. It makes me sad to think that I'm so far off of that.

Scroll to see replies

Ok my first thought is simply that you're going to need more money here... If affording more than 1 hour a week tuition is going to be a significant barrier then the costs of tests/insurance/tax/servicing/fuel are going to be backbreaking.

I'm no authority but if after 4 hours you're not even out of 1st gear that's not good, why is this? What have you spent 4 hours doing? Are you not willing to shift up or is the instructor not letting you? Nervousness is absolutely normal but this sounds like near 0 progress. If costs are going to be a barrier to you getting more lessons... then it also follows you 100% cannot afford bad lessons. (For context my first lesson I was quite happily driving round my neighbourhood in 2nd & 3rd. I had no prior experience and was pretty damn nervous)

(also tbh an instructor saying it might take years... kinda sounds like they don't have the heart for the job. even though what with all the delays and test back logs, it might genuinely take over a year)