The Student Room Group

My dad stresses me out so much when driving

I've been driving for about a few months and have had 16 hours of lessons with my instructor with 2 more hours booked before my test in 5 days. My instructor is always so gentle and has a smile on his face when teaching me, and always compliments my driving with stuff like "If this is was your test, you would've passed with flying cololurs". "I could literally be sleeping right now". And it makes me feel better and more relaxed. And of course, I do make small mistakes here and there and the instructor will be like "U went a bit wide there, be careful". I once accidentally scraped the pavement with the alloys quite badly when pulling up on the left side and the instructor smiles and goes "Minor number oneee".
I feel confident that I'll pass in my instructor's car, should be okay unless I do something stupid.

Now, I've also had about 8 hours of practice with my dad as well and hated every bit of it! He gets so shouty and judgy when sitting in the passenger seat that I don't think he'll ever change, even after I pass my test. I'd hate to drive with him sitting in the passenger seat.
Earlier I was coming up to a junction to turn and we were at least a good 20 seconds away from the junction. And he tells me to indicate, I'm like? We're no where near where we need to turn, and he goes "YOU NEED TO INDICATE NOW, THE CORNER IS RIGHT THERE" So I indicated, and the rest of the conversation is before I actually make the turn "If you don't indicate and then slow down, then the driver behind you is gonna honk at u and get mad blah blah, you need to start using ur brain more often......"
I just don't even know what to do, he said he'll take me out tomorrow for the last time before my test.
In fact, he is quite moody and bossy in general and is quite condescending and aggresive in general.