The Student Room Group
City campus, Sheffield Hallam University
Sheffield Hallam University
Sheffield
Visit website

Placement

Hi there,

This is my first time using this forum but in my situation, I just need to throw this into the void with the hope someone can help and/or provide incite for me.

I am currently in my third and final year of uni after a long four year course (I took a year off for personal reasons). My year off was advised by my university faculty as the personal reasons were causing problem for me completing the year. While they told me multiple times they promised they would give me somewhere closer to home, they decided to give me somewhere on the other side of the country.

I had to pull out all the stops to try and get my placement changed. I had to put myself in a position to nearly getting removed from that placement for the uni to actually follow through with their promise of a closer placement.

Because of the event I've mentioned I was put on a "cause for concern" notice outlining specific details that I must adhere to in order to complete placement. I openly accepted this if this meant that I would be able to finish my degree.

Fast forward to my current placement with this Cause for Concern in place. They have a sign in sheet which I'm aware other sites do this too, in order to monitor attendance with students. However, I had a mid-semester review with my lecturer and clinical liaison officer and it went really well. Mentioning my progress and how well my absence reporting has improved along with my overall performances. After the meeting, we were told to return to placement, which I did along with my friend and two other students. We returned on-site and I needed to go downstairs into theatre. Before anyone mentions that I should have signed in, I normally don't sign in straight away and go straight to theatre to then sign my arrival time when I leave so I do it all in one go.