The Student Room Group

Worrying about job opportunities

Recently I've been worrying about the lack of job offers and opportunities in my area. Even when setting it to a larger radius there aren't any that I'm a suitable applicant for. My last year of school was during covid and I was left stranded up until my GCSEs in which I performed poorly, and I wasn't even "allowed" the actual GCSE papers. I've managed to do one college course so far - but is it enough? There are no job opportunities in my area in the field that I studied. I fear I will never be able to get a job because so many different problems keep holding me back... if it's not my education - it's my area, but if it's not my area, then it's my lack of experience.
Reply 1
There's that saying about having a job to get a job. Don't limit yourself to just the field in which you studied; look for other jobs for which you are qualified.

Employers don't expect much experience from young people, but consider what you can put on a CV. Difficult to say if one course is enough without more info.
Original post by chickenkorma
Recently I've been worrying about the lack of job offers and opportunities in my area. Even when setting it to a larger radius there aren't any that I'm a suitable applicant for. My last year of school was during covid and I was left stranded up until my GCSEs in which I performed poorly, and I wasn't even "allowed" the actual GCSE papers. I've managed to do one college course so far - but is it enough? There are no job opportunities in my area in the field that I studied. I fear I will never be able to get a job because so many different problems keep holding me back... if it's not my education - it's my area, but if it's not my area, then it's my lack of experience.

Hello @chickenkorma