The Student Room Group

A university / college in the UK for disabled student?

Hi there :smile:

I'm 32, have both Israeli and Portuguese nationality.

I need help with finding an institute and getting a student visa, I want to know what my options are.I need a face to face course, I suffer from sleep disorder, ADHD, learning disabilities, Anxiety, dyscalculia and cetra, so I'm looking for an evening course only, that is suitable for my health conditions.

I've been working as a rehabilitation counselor for 3 years in my country, no formal education. I have 12 years education, partial GED, not full. I'm looking to study a bachelor/diploma/certificate in treatment fields : psychology, community service, counseling, social work and cetra.

Until now, I probably manage to find only 1 suitable institute for my condition - Birkbeck, University of London.

I'll be really happy to hear if you can help me and offer me something.

Thanks.
(edited 1 year ago)
There is a university in London that does evening courses. Most dont. A s far as assistance due to your disabilities universities will make reasonable adjustments. It is the law here but you need to contact an individual university to see what help is practical.
Reply 2
Original post by swanseajack1
There is a university in London that does evening courses. Most dont. A s far as assistance due to your disabilities universities will make reasonable adjustments. It is the law here but you need to contact an individual university to see what help is practical.

Thank you for that. What is the uni name?
Original post by TOM_1900
Thank you for that. What is the uni name?

Birkbeck. As far as I know it is the only university offering night courses but someone may know of others. Some colleges may offer part time evening courses as well.
You won’t be able to get a student visa for part time study.
Reply 5
Original post by PQ
You won’t be able to get a student visa for part time study.