The Student Room Group

Is this wrong? Gay Relationship Advice

Hi all.

Recently me and my boyfriend (gay relationship fyi) got into a big argument about some intimate stuff so that is why I am posting anonymously. For context, we have been dating since December 2022. I just want opinions on if how I reacted was awful or what everyone else would do.

I am a home/UK student and he is an international student from Taiwan. I love him so much and I even had the opportunity to visit Taiwan over the summer which was really nice!

Anyway. The problem. Whether you see this as a problem or not, it is for me and if it is controlling please do let me know. I found numerous log ins from the start of our relationship on Twitter/X when I went on his phone to help write him an email (long story that part anyway..) and I found a lot of 18+ stuff he liked/saved. I just felt overall sick and uncomfortable and betrayed in a lot of ways and he commented on some of them saying explicit things.

What would your reaction be? Please lmk
I mean really and truly in this situation everyones reaction would be different. Some may not care as much, and think okay yeah this is the same as going on safari and watching 18+ content, or some may care just as much as you. I would never say ur feelings are invalid cause they are not but I would never say for you to overthink it to the extent of him cheating because it is quite natural for people to engage in 18+ content in a relationship. I would also argue that maybe try not to discuss this with him as it seems very controlling especially logging into his accounts to see this, and yes suspicions may have been correct but it still by no means accept the invasion of privacy you did.