The Student Room Group

Disappointed by university grades

It’s quite frustrating! But my university grades are looking a bit down at the minute . I’m doing some of the harder modules the readings are dense and I’m not really enjoying it but i literally just want to get this degree over with. I’m in first year and my first ever philosophy essay went surprisingly well ! I was happy . Up until I got my second history essay back and got lower than what I got in my practice essay. To put it into perspective I FAILED and got 38%? What ! I read my feedback a lot of it included things like focus on the source and how alot of it was interesting but it had nothing to do with the source so I suppose that’s completely fair. However I’ve handed in another source analysis for another module and I’m nervous that I’ll fail again. I handed it in on time unlike the one I failed , I think that’s why the marker deducted marks for late submission or else how can someone fail a first year essay 😭 I mean to be fair it’s highly plausible , university seems to be humbling us all haha… does anyone have any advice on how to do better by any chance ? I understand with philosophy there should be a balance strikes between unique perspective and philosophers and their own theories whilst remaining focused on the question and having accurate knowledge . History is a bit of a blunder . I would appreciate advice on both degrees if possible 🥰
Reply 1
The mechanics of writing a history paper are largely the same as writing a philosophy paper (I am a philosopher who also works in history of phil): an argument (your own) supported by and critiqued by alternative ideas, supplemented with close attention to and critical interpretation of sources.

Your academic advisor should be able to help with this, as should the library, and the markers of the papers themselves.

Some Oxon guidance

Some Harvard guidance
Hi hi!

Okay, I hear you, in the same boat about feeling crap about grades!