The Student Room Group

Is it worth it to study in the UK?

Im an international student frm australia. I hv an offer and scholarship frm university of melbourne for bachelor of commerce. Right now im struggling to decide whether to study in aus or in the uk. I hv an offer frm uni of manchester and still waiting for ucl, kcl, lse.

Aside frm the costs bcs i know that it will be expensive to study abroad, can someone advice on whether those unis are worth it. Worth it as in prestige, future careers, university experience, etc
Original post by sqvt
Im an international student frm australia. I hv an offer and scholarship frm university of melbourne for bachelor of commerce. Right now im struggling to decide whether to study in aus or in the uk. I hv an offer frm uni of manchester and still waiting for ucl, kcl, lse.

Aside frm the costs bcs i know that it will be expensive to study abroad, can someone advice on whether those unis are worth it. Worth it as in prestige, future careers, university experience, etc

Hello!

I think it is amazing that you are thinking of studying in the UK! I would say no matter where you end up, there is something great in each place! All these university's you have applied to are very well known and highly viewed in terms prestige and ranking. Alongside this, they are all based within 2 major cities, meaning there is always lots to do with the university's own Student Unions, or within the city itself. Each offer their own amazing modes of transport, such as trams and the tube meaning you can travel within the cities and out very easily, as well as both having large airports for yourself to fly into!

As you said moving abroad is not cheap or an easy decision, however you can learn so much by spending some time elsewhere:h: The people you met and the experiences you can have will be worth it!

I hope all you offers go well! and that you do what makes you happy! :h:

Best wishes,
Official Essex Rep - Morgan X