The Student Room Group

Mature student, maintenance loan & housing benefit.

Hi,
I'm hoping someone can help me with a query that I have regarding a student maintenance loan and housing benefit. I have been informed by the university centre that I've applied to, that I need to inform housing benefit/ local council once I start my course in September 2015 that I'm in receipt of a student maintenance loan. Apparently student grants aren't considered in the calculation of a housing benefit claim, yet the maintenance loan is? This makes no sense to me as it's a loan? It's something I have to pay back? I'm just wondering if anyone has been in this position and wanted to make sure the information I've been given is correct. I'm a mature student, who works part-time going on to study interior design with one child, who has to claim housing benefit to top up my wages for rent. Surely, if this is correct, that the loan is taken into consideration then my best option is to opt out of taking the loan as housing benefit is not something I have to pay back but something I'm entitled to? Any help would be appreciated. I'm just trying to weigh up my options etc. Thanks in advance.
Your loan will be counted as income whether you take it or not.
Original post by OU Student
Your loan will be counted as income whether you take it or not.

Your answer doesn't make any sense? Surely if I don't take the maintenance loan, as you can opt out of receiving the loan, it will not be classed as income to the council, as I won't be receiving it... I'm trying to find out if the information I have been given is correct as the maintenance loan is a loan I have to pay back and housing benefit is something I don't...
Original post by emfmummy2009