The Student Room Group

"Migrant Worker Scheme"

Dear SFE,
I kept asking it on Facebook and Twitter and I even called you, but I am still very worried as my Polish friends do not really cheep me up. So I am a EU student and I would like to apply for Maintenance Loan (or even Grant, if that's possible). A long time ago I was told that it was possible. The criteria to meet were the following:
1. Be here in the UK before 1 September.
2. Work here in the UK for 3 months.
3. My parents income must be low (less than 30000 pounds for 2 years? 15000 pounds per head for 2 years?)
4. I must be working throughout my studies.

And for from June till the end of July I was working 25-40 hours a week so I could cover my house rent later. Then I moved to the town I will be studying and being here I found a temporary job, which is great and I have 6 months probation period, so I feel safe etc. But the matter is that the job is VERY part-time. It's - due to my studies - 5.5 hours a week. A lovely lady from your SFE told me that it is fine, it's enough. But I am really worried. I was told that some people didn't got their loans because their working hours were not enough. I wanted to make sure, my 5.5 hours are enough (for now, I do hope to find later some additional job not to rely only on loan and my poor salary, but I would appreciate if I had not to worry about my current contract now).

Can you please confirm that I should not be worried about my 5.5 hours/week? Because my parents put so much effort in translating their tax reports and the rest of needed documents, as they really want to help me, and I would like not to waste their time and money obviously. And if I happen not to receive financial support (loan?grant?) from SFE, if my circumstances will change, can I re-apply later for the same year?
Thank you.
(edited 8 years ago)
Reply 1