The Student Room Group

Dropping a subject and anxiety

I am currently in my first year of Sixth Form doing my AS. At my college I do 4 AS-levels but my anxiety is getting really bad again. I have also in the past suffered with depression and I'm worried about having a relapse. I was wondering of their was anyway I could drop a subject now for medical reasons. This is because if I don't I fear that I will end up dropping out which is something I don't want to do.
Reply 1
Original post by Ash-Lia
I am currently in my first year of Sixth Form doing my AS. At my college I do 4 AS-levels but my anxiety is getting really bad again. I have also in the past suffered with depression and I'm worried about having a relapse. I was wondering of their was anyway I could drop a subject now for medical reasons. This is because if I don't I fear that I will end up dropping out which is something I don't want to do.

I highly recommend that you should only do 3 AS Levels.
Reply 2
Original post by AshEntropy
I highly recommend that you should only do 3 AS Levels.

My college says that I can't. If it was a medical reason, would I be able to?
Reply 3
Original post by Ash-Lia
My college says that I can't. If it was a medical reason, would I be able to?

You should be able to...
I don't understand why colleges insist on people taking 4 AS Levels, universities only look at 3..
Reply 4
Original post by AshEntropy
You should be able to...
I don't understand why colleges insist on people taking 4 AS Levels, universities only look at 3..

I thought the same thing cause I thought wouldn't it be better focussing only on the 3 you want to carry on for the whole 2 years instead of 4 then dropping 1