The Student Room Group

Medicine 2nd Degree

Hello,

I completed an undergraduate degree in International Relations and History at King's College London and received full tuition fee loans to cover the tuition costs, I didn't take out any maintenance loans.

I then undertook a master's degree in International public policy at UCL and received around £10,000 loan towards this, again, I didn't take out any maintenance loan.

I have been thinking of pursuing graduate entry medicine for a long time but I cannot cover the tuition fees or living costs. I am aware that for graduate entry medicine the NHS bursary covers £5,000 for years 2,3, and 4, and you have to provide £3,400 for the first year. Is it possible for me to receive further student loans to cover graduate entry medicine and am I also able to receive maintenance loans, and if so how much per year?

I appreciate any help or guidance !
Original post by moand26
Hello,

I completed an undergraduate degree in International Relations and History at King's College London and received full tuition fee loans to cover the tuition costs, I didn't take out any maintenance loans.

I then undertook a master's degree in International public policy at UCL and received around £10,000 loan towards this, again, I didn't take out any maintenance loan.

I have been thinking of pursuing graduate entry medicine for a long time but I cannot cover the tuition fees or living costs. I am aware that for graduate entry medicine the NHS bursary covers £5,000 for years 2,3, and 4, and you have to provide £3,400 for the first year. Is it possible for me to receive further student loans to cover graduate entry medicine and am I also able to receive maintenance loans, and if so how much per year?

I appreciate any help or guidance !

Hi there,

What is the name of the course you are looking to study and what is the university you're looking to study at?

Can you also confirm when you are looking to do this and will it be full time?