The Student Room Group

Living abroad teaching in China for two years.

Hello, I have been working as a teacher in China since July 2021. I plan on coming back to the uk to complete a pgce in September 2024. I am a british citizen. Would I be able to apply for student finance? I have seen online it states that you need to have lived in England for 3 years before your course, I have also seen people write if you are able to show you was outside of the uk temporarily then you would be eligible, in my passport are one year work visas, I’ve had to get new visas each year is this sufficient? I’ve also seen that the pgce course is an exemption course and that it does not follow these regulations is that true? The pgce course is one year long and I don’t already have qts
Original post by Scary
Hello, I have been working as a teacher in China since July 2021. I plan on coming back to the uk to complete a pgce in September 2024. I am a british citizen. Would I be able to apply for student finance? I have seen online it states that you need to have lived in England for 3 years before your course, I have also seen people write if you are able to show you was outside of the uk temporarily then you would be eligible, in my passport are one year work visas, I’ve had to get new visas each year is this sufficient? I’ve also seen that the pgce course is an exemption course and that it does not follow these regulations is that true? The pgce course is one year long and I don’t already have qts

Hi Scary,