The Student Room Group

Parents criticising you for not having a job after university

Hi all,

I'm mainly interested to see if anyone else did/is having this issue regarding parents and university, or rather parents and what happens after university.

I had a very miserable time at university (despite doing well on the degree course). This was mainly because my parents forced me to attend and were not accepting of me pursing other options. I did try to drop out on several occasions but they refused to let me do so (mainly because I was living with them). They refused to let me drop out despite university nearly killing me on several occasions. I graduated last summer btw.

One of the reasons why I wanted to drop out is because I saw (and still think) HE is a waste of time because of the lack of employment prospects if you are not doing a degree that guarantees you a job. The irony is that I have just graduated and, what a surprise, I do not have a job just like I have been saying to my parents for the last three years. They are berating me for not securing any sort of employment despite me saying that I am unlikely to do so after my degree.

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this problem before. Thanks.
Reply 1
No, but I am sympathetic to you. It's so mad to me that parents don't engage with their kids on this stuff properly. Sometimes the child will actually know better about things like this. I hope something falls your way soon.
Reply 2
Original post by Anonymous #1
Hi all,

I'm mainly interested to see if anyone else did/is having this issue regarding parents and university, or rather parents and what happens after university.