The Student Room Group

Failed one of my modules, concerned about others.

I should preface this by saying that I haven't failed a module in uni before, on account of trying to put as much as I possibly could into passing in my first year of uni.

I'm a Graphic Design student, and just yesterday one of my lecturers told me I didn't pass one of the modules in the first semester, and that they'd offer me a resit project for it. While I will admit I didn't do my best (I didn't do enough documentation in my process book/forgot to put certain images in my PDFs) I'm still somewhat majorly worried about the rest of my course, knowing the worry that failing one or more of the modules might affect my final grade in 2nd year.

Should I be majorly concerned, will it affect anything down the line?
Original post by Anonymous
I should preface this by saying that I haven't failed a module in uni before, on account of trying to put as much as I possibly could into passing in my first year of uni.

I'm a Graphic Design student, and just yesterday one of my lecturers told me I didn't pass one of the modules in the first semester, and that they'd offer me a resit project for it. While I will admit I didn't do my best (I didn't do enough documentation in my process book/forgot to put certain images in my PDFs) I'm still somewhat majorly worried about the rest of my course, knowing the worry that failing one or more of the modules might affect my final grade in 2nd year.

Often if you fail a module and then resit/retake, your mark will be capped at a pass (40%). That will therefore impact your average mark for this year (although perhaps not significantly).

It's also worth checking your course handbook or academic regulations to see exactly how they calculate the mark for the year (and for your overall degree classification). Many universities allow you to discard the lowest mark, in which case this resit will have precisely zero impact.
Original post by Anonymous #1

Hey!