The Student Room Group

Got a job where everyone with the same or similar job title has a degree

I created this account as a bit of a throwaway, as I don’t want to post it on my main account. But back in 2018, I decided to drop out of university but I didn’t really alter my career goals. I still wanted to do what I wanted to do, but for various reasons I wasn’t doing well with university.

I staid in communication with my faculty about it and I networked in my chosen profession (education) while I was still at university. When I finally decided to drop out of university, I left on good terms with a Certificate of Higher Education and with a job in a secondary school. I guess even then most of the people I worked with had degrees but I didn’t give it too much thought.

I should note, I haven’t abandoned my educational pursuits however. I’m presently studying to become a counsellor and I am in the midst of doing my Level 4 Diploma in Therapeutic Counselling. My goal is to follow this through to Level 6 and eventually return to university to do a Masters in Psychology. While I was at university, when I started becoming distant from the course, one of my lecturers suggested that Psychology might be more my speed. It is something that stuck with me. But as it stands, I lack a degree.

Anyway, I recently found myself not enjoying working in secondary education. I’m very passionate about working in a student support role. While a degree isn’t required for one, in schools they require a lot of experience, there aren’t many roles in that area and they are extremely competitive. My career felt like it hit a dead end where I’d been pigeonholed into roles I wasn’t really interested in and that weren’t progressing my career.