The Student Room Group

Student finance query

I studied before with Open Uni, I claimed CertHE from previous studies however I studied with them 3 years and then withdraw. I would like to start full time with one of the London Uni to continue on the same subject to gain a Degree. Will I get full student finance does anyone know how it works? Thank you.
Unfortunately part time study that resulted in a qualification counts as previous study.

So if you want to study full time now then you will be assessed as have 3 years of previous study.

That would mean that the first 2 years of a full time degree would be unfunded and you wouldn’t get a tuition fee loan for those 2 years. You would still get a maintenance loan for all years.

This wouldn’t be a problem if you studied a new course part time
Reply 2
Original post by PQ
Unfortunately part time study that resulted in a qualification counts as previous study.

So if you want to study full time now then you will be assessed as have 3 years of previous study.

That would mean that the first 2 years of a full time degree would be unfunded and you wouldn’t get a tuition fee loan for those 2 years. You would still get a maintenance loan for all years.

This wouldn’t be a problem if you studied a new course part time

Thank you for your reply. So just to clarify If I understood it correct.
If I hold CertHe which is equvalent to Year 1 of studies and I completed it within the first year of my previous studies and then I studied for another 2 years with open uni and did not gain any more qualification all this years are still counting towards full time studies? I would like to do 3 years health and social care- Could you clarify why I am not entitled to 2 years funding due to my previous studies while I studied 3 years please. Thank you and sorry for asking again I just would like to be clear.
Original post by Karolla85
Thank you for your reply. So just to clarify If I understood it correct.