The Student Room Group

I'm struggling to make friends.

I recently just started my first year at uni and I am now in my second semester and I still have not managed to make any friends whatsoever. dont get me wrong I tried to talk and be friendly but I just find is so difficult to keep conversations and on top of that I get pretty bad anxiety/paranoia and think no one likes me, I'm just annoying them or maybe I just give off a bad vibe to them. I know uni isnt all about making/having friends but I find it so lonely especially living away from home aswell. my roommates all stay in their rooms and aren't social at all so that just makes it even harder. I have joined a games society but I'm just too afraid to go and be around a big crowd of people. Anyway has anyone else ever been in this situation? I just feel so alone. 😔
Original post by RebW
I recently just started my first year at uni and I am now in my second semester and I still have not managed to make any friends whatsoever. dont get me wrong I tried to talk and be friendly but I just find is so difficult to keep conversations and on top of that I get pretty bad anxiety/paranoia and think no one likes me, I'm just annoying them or maybe I just give off a bad vibe to them. I know uni isnt all about making/having friends but I find it so lonely especially living away from home aswell. my roommates all stay in their rooms and aren't social at all so that just makes it even harder. I have joined a games society but I'm just too afraid to go and be around a big crowd of people. Anyway has anyone else ever been in this situation? I just feel so alone. 😔

Hey, I'm sorry you're in that situation right now, but trust me, it won't always be like that!
What you need to do ASAP is join as many societies as possible, that way you can interconnect with a large amount of people, there will be people with similar interests as you and that will love to be your friend!