Ask me anything about Speech and Language Therapy!

Watch
UniofReading
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 days ago
Hi everyone!

I'm Ellen and I am just about to enter my 4th year of Speech and Language Therapy at the University of Reading. If you've got any questions about life at University, Speech and Language Therapy, the degree or academic university questions then please feel free to ask away!!

I will come back and check the thread on Tuesday and Saturday.

Ellen
Student Ambassador
nanana8
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 3 days ago
Hi Ellen! I am thinking to apply for MSc speech and language (pre-reg) for 2021. However, I have been struggling to find relevant experiences (especially with adults) due to the pandemic. Do you have any suggestions on where should we find relevant experiences for the speech and language programme? Thanks!
MarieLouise88
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 3 days ago
Hi Ellen,

I’m also interested in finding out about experience needed. I currently work as a nursery nurse in the NHS alongside Speech and Language working with preschool children with global developmental delay or social communication difficulties but have no experience working with older people, is this something I should be looking to do?

Also interested to know what the workload is like and how many hours are you in uni per week? I have two children of primary school age, I am hoping to apply for BCU and am undecided between their full or part time degree option in order to work around my children as much as possible.

Thank you 😊
UniofReading
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 days ago
(Original post by nanana8)
Hi Ellen! I am thinking to apply for MSc speech and language (pre-reg) for 2021. However, I have been struggling to find relevant experiences (especially with adults) due to the pandemic. Do you have any suggestions on where should we find relevant experiences for the speech and language programme? Thanks!
Hi,