The Student Room Group

Should I considered University ranking, subject ranking or both

Hi, I am an international student and I have a question about uni ranking. UK have lots of good unis some are the top U and some aren’t. But some of the top tier universities aren’t good at some subject. of course, it is very normal . For example I want to study business management, so I have searched some unis that I want to study and it is a top tier and well known uni such as KCL and UCL, but they aren’t good at business as some lower tier uni.what should I consider? University ranking or subject ranking? I know it is very complicated and it is a tough situation. My family need to pay huge amount of money therefore I just want to choose the best one out there.
Original post by Paphon
Hi, I am an international student and I have a question about uni ranking. UK have lots of good unis some are the top U and some aren’t. But some of the top tier universities aren’t good at some subject. of course, it is very normal . For example I want to study business management, so I have searched some unis that I want to study and it is a top tier and well known uni such as KCL and UCL, but they aren’t good at business as some lower tier uni.what should I consider? University ranking or subject ranking? I know it is very complicated and it is a tough situation. My family need to pay huge amount of money therefore I just want to choose the best one out there.

Hi!
Personally, I think that the subject ranking would be more important than the university ranking because a uni could be great but be bad at teaching your specific course. You want to go to the best place for your needs. Usually subject rankings are based on things like the facilities they have for certain subjects, the teaching of the subjects, course satisfaction, etc. This is why I think that the course reputation is more important than the uni reputation.