The Student Room Group

Tesco workers please help

I'm 17 and have been working at Tesco for about 10 months in an express. Recently I learned that during the 4 hour Saturday shifts I had been doing for these 10 months I was allowed a 30 minute break, whereas I had been told that I should have a 15 minute break. I added it up and I will be missing around £400 due to working for 15 minutes a day unpaid. Should I take it up with my manager or is there something I'm missing that justifies the situation?
Reply 1
Yep. You should definitely take it up with him. Imagine if it was the other way around and he caught you stealing that same amount of money from him, he won't take it so lightly or ask for advice before he makes his decision on what to do to you.
Reply 2
Well it all depends on whether your manager is exceptioning the break or not on payroll.

If they are, then they'd of told the system you're only taking a 15min break, so it'll pay you for the other 15.
If not, then it's auto deducting 30mins due to your age, meaning you're missing out on money.

Technically your manager is right though, a 4hr shift does equal a 15min break, but that's based on a colleague over 18yrs old. As you're younger, different break rules apply.

It's news to me that a 17yr old is allowed to work in an Express, in my old one they only employed 18+ due to having to go on tills serving cigs/booze.
(edited 9 months ago)
Reply 3
Original post by LH05
I'm 17 and have been working at Tesco for about 10 months in an express. Recently I learned that during the 4 hour Saturday shifts I had been doing for these 10 months I was allowed a 30 minute break, whereas I had been told that I should have a 15 minute break. I added it up and I will be missing around £400 due to working for 15 minutes a day unpaid. Should I take it up with my manager or is there something I'm missing that justifies the situation?

GOV.UK
https://www.gov.uk young-workers
Rest breaks at work: Young workers