The Student Room Group

Can I be charged for dropping out of next year’s housing contract?

I’m a 2nd year Uni student still living out my housing contract for the rest of the 23/24 year. We signed on to stay in the same flat for the 24/25 year however due to unforeseen circumstances I’m moving back to my hometown and will be commuting to uni instead. I have someone to replace me in next year’s contract, they are happy to live with my flatmates and willing to sign on. However, the letting agents want to charge me £240 to change the name on the contract.Is there any way I can get out of this? Obviously as a student I’m going to struggle getting the money to pay it anyways but it seems like such a huge amount to change a name on a contract that doesn’t start for another 9 months :frown:
Reply 1
You can be charged yes, it’s a bit of a grey area in the law. Fees are capped at £50 unless the agents have additional ‘reasonable costs’ eg it costs them more than £50 to change it over.
The issue is, it’s not just ‘change a name on a contract’ they have to get an entirely new one drawn up to reissue it. Ask them for a breakdown of what it costs them and speak to citizens advice but if that’s what it cost them to change it all over they can charge that to you…
Reply 2
Original post by ALEreapp
You can be charged yes, it’s a bit of a grey area in the law. Fees are capped at £50 unless the agents have additional ‘reasonable costs’ eg it costs them more than £50 to change it over.
The issue is, it’s not just ‘change a name on a contract’ they have to get an entirely new one drawn up to reissue it. Ask them for a breakdown of what it costs them and speak to citizens advice but if that’s what it cost them to change it all over they can charge that to you…

Yeah I understood there would be a charge and the £50 part is in both the Tenants Fee Act that they sent us AND the contract. However they’ve upped the fee because lots of tenants with them are changing tenancy.