The Student Room Group

Feeling lonely on placement

I'm a uni student currently on placement in a different city from my uni and home town. I've not really been able to find anyone here as my internship only had 1 position so I'm the only intern here and there's no one of my age.

I end up feeling quite lonely on the weekends as I don't speak to many people then other than my family over the phone and sometimes to my friends back at uni. Any advice?
Original post by Anonymous #1
I'm a uni student currently on placement in a different city from my uni and home town. I've not really been able to find anyone here as my internship only had 1 position so I'm the only intern here and there's no one of my age.

I end up feeling quite lonely on the weekends as I don't speak to many people then other than my family over the phone and sometimes to my friends back at uni. Any advice?
Hiya,

I’m sorry to hear you’re feeling lonely. I can understand why you would be feeling this way!

Firstly, I think it’s great that you speak to your family. This is really important. I hope that you can express to them and your friends how you’re feeling! It’s much healthier to express how you’re feeling to the people who care about you.

I understand that sometimes age can be a barrier but I found myself in a similar situation when I was 16. I was in an office where everyone was aged about 40 and I too felt lonely. However, I did like the job and the people so I pushed myself out of my comfort zone and one day asked one of the ladies if I could join her for lunch. After that, we went to lunch together everyday. I was 16 and she was 62 but we got on so so well and we kept in touch and met up for coffee even after I left. So, my point is even tho age can be a barrier it doesn’t have to be! These might not be people that you’ll go out on the weekends with but you can still make some great work based relationships, where you’ll look forward to your placement.