The Student Room Group

From clearing, a first to landing a job - feel free to ask me questions ! :)

If you have a question about your Firm or Insurance choices, Clearing or other UCAS-related issues then please ask your question HERE or post in the Clearing FAQ threads.

Hi guys! :hi: I'm Cheese :wavey: I'm a Vegetable :h: and I went through Clearing to get my University place studying Chemistry at the University of Southampton :woo:
Last year I graduated on my 4 year course doing MChem Chemistry with a First Class Honours!! :woohoo: :happy2: :smartass:

The same year I got a job as a scientist in a pharmaceutical company! I've been there for almost a year now and it's been so much fun. Going through clearing absolutely did not stop me in my career journey and I have been loving life :yes:
I don't want to derail this thread too much about scientific graduate roles so if you have questions about that specifically, maybe shoot me a PM :smile:

If you have questions about chemistry as a course, you should ask it here. Similarly with Southampton as a Uni, use the relevant threads on the University of Southampton's forum :yy:

This thread is here to help dispel some of the myths surrounding clearing, I am also here to answer any of your questions about going through Clearing, what it is, any worries you have or just any questions about University in general :tongue:

There are loads more of these threads which you can find listed below. They are for different subjects and different Universities so please take a look! If you would also like to offer a helping hand, just let us know! :ta:
Useful Links:
Big Fat List of Clearing Threads on TSR
Clearing FAQ 2022
List of Clearing Vacancies you can search on UCAS
Adjustment FAQs - no longer offered by UCAS for 2022
Clearing Plus FAQs
Uni transfer FAQ
Getting out of an unconditional offer and applying through clearing
UCAS Extra

The Steps of Going Through Clearing: