The Student Room Group

Seeking Guidance on Potential Employment Misclassification Case

Hello all,

I am a student reaching out for some advice regarding an employment situation I am currently dealing with. I recently worked for a direct sales company for just 3 weeks before resigning due to some serious concerns.

Originally, I responded to a job advertisement for an hourly wage sales role. However, after I started working, the company pressured me to sign an independent contractor agreement.

I worked for 3 weeks, completing over 43 hours. However, I was never paid any wages. When I complained, the company claimed I had signed a contractor agreement absolving them of wage obligations - but I never signed any such agreement.

In addition to the unpaid wages issue, I faced troubling incidents involving unwanted contact and a dismissive response when I complained internally. The company also did not provide any of the training that was originally promised during my hiring.

I showed up to the office to review the agreement, but found it closed without notice. I believe I should have been classified as a direct employee, but they insist the unsigned contractor agreement lets them avoid paying me.

Has anyone dealt with a similar situation before? Are there any legal clinics, advocacy groups or other resources you could recommend I reach out to? I want to understand my rights and options strategically. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

I am located in Manchester in case there are any localized organizations that could advise. Thank you so much for any insights you can offer.
Original post by sah90
Hello all,

I am a student reaching out for some advice regarding an employment situation I am currently dealing with. I recently worked for a direct sales company for just 3 weeks before resigning due to some serious concerns.